With the goal of increasing the safety of law enforcement, the legislature passed a “move over” law in Colorado.
Colorado’s move over law is a statute that requires drivers to move to another lane or slow down when passing a stationary emergency vehicle, tow vehicle, or public utility vehicle that is on or near the roadway with its lights flashing.
The statute specifically requires drivers to move into the farthest left-hand lane that is available to them. If an adjacent lane is unavailable, the move over law in Colorado requires drivers to lower their speed to:
- 20 miles below the speed limit in areas where the speed limit is above 45 miles per hour or
- 25 miles per hour in areas where the speed limit is below 45 miles per hour.
Violation of the move over law in Colorado can result in charges for careless driving, a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense.
Violating the Colorado move over law could result in a car accident, giving rise to a personal injury claim. As a traffic infraction, showing that a person violated the move over law could assist in determining who caused the accident.
If the driver who violated the law is at fault, you can file a personal injury suit to recover for the losses you suffered as a result of the car accident.
Our experienced personal injury lawyers at Tenge Law Firm, LLC will be happy to discuss your case.
When Did the Move Over Law in Colorado Come Into Effect
According to the Emergency Responder Safety Institute, across the nation,18 law enforcement officers, 14 tow truck drivers, 9 firefighters/EMS personnel, and 3 mobile mechanics were killed at the roadside in 2019 alone.
The move over law in Colorado aims to help lower these numbers and protect workers performing roadside services. Colorado has enforced some form of move over law since 2005.
The law was most recently amended in 2021, and it is set to go into effect on March 1, 2022.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer Today
Even though every state enforces some kind of move over law, many drivers fail to observe them. That can cause dangerous conditions on roads, leading to devastating car accidents.
If you were involved in a car accident after another driver violated the move over law in Colorado, you could recover compensation in a personal injury suit.
Our team of lawyers at the Tenge Law Firm has represented clients in personal injury matters for three decades. We pride ourselves on providing aggressive, diligent, and thorough representation for injured victims and their families.
Unlike some law firms, you will not wait weeks for an email response or returned phone call. We prioritize giving our clients prompt responses to any concerns they may have.
We handle all types of personal injury claims, so no matter your situation, we will have someone ready to help.
If you suffered a car accident as a result of another person violating the move over law, get in touch with our office right away.
Contact us online or call us now at 303-625-6741 for a free, no-obligation consultation.