If you report a drunk driver in Colorado, you might save several lives. Even though an intoxicated driver might be furious with you for reporting them, their life might be one you help to save.
Never hesitate to report someone you believe might be driving while intoxicated in Colorado.
Colorado Drunk Driving Statistics
Following are some recent Colorado DUI statistics to give you some perspective on the scope of the problem:
- Colorado prosecutors filed more than 26,000 DUI charges. Not all of these charges involved alcohol, of course. Some involved driving while “high” on other substances, such as marijuana.
- Colorado won convictions about 88% of the time.
- DUI convictions were highest among males aged 21 to 25.
- The average BAC (blood alcohol concentration) was 0.156, nearly double the legal limit.
- More than a quarter of the drivers convicted of DUI were involved in accidents while intoxicated.
Colorado impaired driving deaths (including drunk and drugged driving) reached a 20-year high of 253 deaths in 2021.
Telltale Signs of a Drunk Driver
Following are some of the behaviors that are characteristic of drunk drivers:
- Sudden acceleration or deceleration (screeching stops at red lights, etc.);
- Driving in low gear, with lights off at night, especially in the countryside (to avoid detection by the police);
- Driving in the emergency lane;
- Signaling that is inconsistent with subsequent behavior;
- Slow response to traffic signals;
- Driving unusually slowly;
- Abrupt turns or lane changes;
- Passing in the emergency lane;
- Unusually wide turns; and
- Almost hitting a telephone pole, barrier, person, or another vehicle.
There are a hundred other ways that drunk drivers might give themselves away. Use your common sense to detect an impaired driver.
The Hotline to Report Drunk Drivers in Colorado
It is easy to report a drunk driver in Colorado, as long as you have access to a telephone. Simply dial *277 (star CSP). Remember that “CSP” stands for “Colorado State Police.”
Describe the car (color, make, model, etc.), the road on which the suspect was driving, and their driving direction. The police will take care of the rest. A DUI in Denver is serious business, but it is not nearly as serious as a fatal accident.
We Turn Claims into Cash
If you have suffered an injury due to a car accident caused by a drunk driver, or if your loved one died in a crash caused by a drunk driver, you need to start preparing for legal action immediately.
The longer you wait, the weaker your claim will become. Damages can be generous, depending on the severity of your injury.
In a DUI case, you might even be able to double your recovery by demanding punitive damages.
At the Tenge Law Firm, LLC, we’ve been fighting for the rights of personal injury victims for 30 years now. We can help you negotiate a settlement, and if that doesn’t work, we are ready for a courtroom battle.
Call Tenge Law at 303-529-6742 or contact us online for a free consultation. Remember this much: If we don’t win your case, you won’t owe us anything.