| Read Time: 3 minutes | Accident Reports

How Long Does It Take to Get a Police Report After a Car Accident in Colorado

Regardless of whether you were at fault in a given accident, you should always have a copy of your accident report. Accident reports are essential in the claim process because they are the official record of the accident. Without an accident report, the claim’s process would quickly devolve into hopelessly conflicting versions of what happened with no way to answer the question of who is liable for what damages. People often wonder how long it will take to get their accident report. Unfortunately, it is hard to provide an accurate estimation. How to Get a Police Report for a Car Accident To get your accident report, you need to go through the law enforcement agency that responded to your accident. For accidents on Colorado freeways, you need to contact the Colorado State Patrol. If your crash was within city limits, like Boulder, for example, you submit your request through that city’s police department. Finally, if your accident occurs outside of city limits and a local sheriff’s department responds to the scene, you need to submit your accident report request through them. Every jurisdiction follows a slightly different protocol, but they are all easily navigable.  How Long Does It Take to Get a Copy of a Police Report? Different jurisdictions list different ranges of time that their accident reports take. There is no set standard among the different Colorado law enforcement agencies. Most of the time, accident reports take between two and four weeks to reach their recipient, but sometimes it takes longer. Because police departments can’t always accurately estimate how long a given report will take to reach its destination, they don’t offer any sort of guarantee as to when a given report will arrive. Law enforcement agencies need time to file and process accident reports before they are available to the relevant parties. For some departments, this means that an accident report is not available until 14 days after it is filed, while other departments may require 10 days. Regardless, you should not expect to have your accident report in hand until at least 10-14 days have passed. Why Is My Accident Police Report Taking So Long? Having a delay between when you request your accident report and when you receive it is not an uncommon occurrence. This delay can make an already frustrating situation even worse. The accident report is essential in the claim process. If you don’t know what’s on the accident report, you will have a hard time presenting your claim. So why do accident reports sometimes get delayed? The truth is, in large bureaucratic organizations like police departments, a number of things can create delays in getting documents out to the people who request them. Those documents, of course, include your car accident report. You can always expect some degree of variation between the time you request your document and the time it is supposed to arrive. This variation goes both ways. If the number of pending document requests is fairly low when you submit your request, you may get your report a few days early. But if the staff tasked with responding to requests have a backlog of requests to get through before yours, it may arrive late. This variation is exactly why most police departments are reluctant to promise or guarantee  How to Ensure You Get Your Accident Report As Soon As Possible Most of what determines how long it will take for you to receive your accident report is entirely out of your control. Thus, there isn’t much you can do to get your accident report sooner. But there is one thing entirely under your control: submitting your properly completed request as soon as possible. That way, you won’t lose your spot in the line. Equally important is to properly fill out your document request. If the request is missing information and has to come back to you, your request will go to the back of the line. Outside of this, there isn’t much you can do to make things go quicker. Now That You Have Your Accident Report With your accident report in hand, you can start the process of recovering your damages and moving on from the accident. The best way to do that is with an experienced car accident attorney. Fortunately, the team at Tenge Law Firm is just that: experienced. Every day, we help our clients move forward from the trauma that comes with a nasty car accident. We treat our clients with respect and compassion, and we do everything we can to get them the best results. To see if Tenge Law Firm is the right fit for you, contact us today to get started! We have offices in Denver, Boulder, and Fort Collins.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get an Accident Report from the Loveland Police Department

Regardless of what direction you think your Loveland car accident claim will go, you should always have a copy of your Loveland, Colorado police report. The truth is, you never know what direction your claim might take. Your Loveland police report is the official record of your accident, so you need to know what’s on it to properly pursue your claim and protect your interests. Because requesting Loveland police reports is not something that you would do on a regular basis, you might not know how to request them. Luckily, the process of requesting Loveland accident reports is fairly straightforward. Once you have your Loveland accident report, Tenge Law Firm can help you take the next steps. Requesting Your Loveland Accident Report If your accident probably occurred within Loveland city limits, the responding officer will have filed your accident report with the department’s records division. You will need to submit your request to the records division. There are two main ways that you can go about requesting Loveland accident reports: in person or via mail, email, or fax. In-Person Requests You can submit your Loveland accident report request form in person at the Loveland Police Department’s physical headquarters. Their office is located at 810 E.10th Street, Suite 100, Loveland, CO 80537. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 5 PM. These hours may exclude holidays. If your report is available, the turnaround time for an in-person request might be as little as 20 minutes. Email Mail and Fax Requests To submit a request online, through the mail, or via fax, you first need to fill out a Records Request Form. After you fill out the necessary information, you will submit the request. You can fax your request to 970-962-2916, email it to records@cityofloveland.org, or mail the request to the department’s records division at 810 E.10th Street, Suite 100, Loveland, CO 80537. If you have questions about filling out and submitting the request form, you can always call LPD at 970-962-2267. Loveland Accident Reports: Cost and Timeline It is important to keep in mind that your accident report is not available for up to 14 days after an accident. This time is necessary for the police department to review the information and properly file it. There is no charge for reports 20 pages or less. The fee for reports over 20 pages is $5.00, with an additional cost of 0.25$ for every additional page. Let Tenge Law Firm Help Get You the Settlement You Deserve To increase your chance for success with your Loveland car accident claim, call Tenge Law Firm for some of the most experienced and personalized representation that Loveland has to offer. We are proud of our five-star ratings all around the web. Our previous clients rate us five out of five stars on websites like Lawyers.com, Yelp, Google Reviews, and even Avvo. You can read about our success stories on our client reviews and case results pages. If you think we are a good fit for your individual legal needs, let us see what we can do to help you. Contact us today for your free consultation!

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

Step-By-Step How to Get a Longmont Accident Report

Being in an accident is a traumatic experience, especially if you receive an injury. Once you are safe, you may not know where to begin with your claim. If you sustained an injury in an accident in Longmont, your first step in filing a claim is to get a copy of your Longmont accident report. This report not only provides details about the accident to the insurance company but also includes information from the officer’s preliminary investigation. At Tenge Law Firm, our personal injury attorneys can help you get a copy of your report. What’s Included in Longmont Accident Reports Accident reports contain valuable information about everyone involved in an accident. It’s usually filled out by the responding police officer and includes any evidence they find at the scene, such as: The date and location of the accident; Damage to all vehicles involved; Road conditions and weather hazards; and Photographs, diagrams, and sketches of the collision. For this reason, the accident report serves as an essential piece of evidence in your claim. How to Obtain a Copy of My Longmont Accident Report The first thing you should do is call the Longmont Police Department to see if they filed your accident report. In many cases, it may take up to two weeks for the officer to file the report. You may check your Longmont accident report’s status with the report number provided by the officer. If you had to leave the scene due to a medical emergency, you may call the police department to get the report number. Once your Longmont accident report becomes available, there are two ways to get a copy, either in person or by mail.  In Person If you want to get a copy of your Longmont accident report today, you can visit the Longmont Department of Public Safety Records Window. When you go, make sure to bring a valid form of ID. Each copy costs $5.25 for the first page and $0.25 for each additional page. Longmont Department of Public Safety Records Unit Safety and Justice Building 225 Kimbark Street Longmont, CO 80501 Phone: 303-651-8502 Hours: Monday-Friday, 7 AM-6 PM Mail To receive your accident report by mail, you must first call the Longmont police to check the status of your accident report. If it’s available, you can mail a crash report request form with payment to the Longmont Department of Public Safety at the address listed above. Currently, the Longmont Police Department accepts payments only in the form of cash or check.  Need Help Getting Your Longmont Accident Report? If you have any questions about requesting your Longmont accident report or need help finding it, we can help. Our experienced personal injury attorneys can answer any questions you may have about your claim or locating your report. To schedule a free case review or speak with a Tenge Law Firm attorney, give us a call or contact us online. We proudly serve clients throughout Colorado from our offices in Denver, Boulder, and Ft. Collins.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

Castle Rock Accident Reports: Steps to Get Your Report

When you get into a crash, the responding police department usually files an accident report. This report not only includes details about the aftermath of the accident but also serves as an important piece of evidence in your claim. At Tenge Law Firm, our car accident attorneys can help locate your Castle Rock accident report immediately after your crash. Ways to Obtain Castle Rock Accident Reports If the Castle Rock Police Department responds to your accident, there are a few different ways to get a copy of your report. Even if you can’t visit the department in person, you may obtain a copy online or through mail, email, or fax. Online For convenience, the Castle Rock Police Department offers digital copies of accident reports online through LexisNexis. This system allows you to look up Castle Rock accident reports made on or after November 1, 2014.  To find your accident report, you must select the Castle Rock Police Department under Jurisdiction and enter one of the following: The accident report number, Your last name and the date of the crash, or Your last name and the location of the crash. Keep in mind that your report may not be available until 24 hours after the accident. If you can’t find your report after three business days, try contacting the Castle Rock Police Department Records Unit. In Person If you want to get a copy of your Castle Rock accident report in person, all you need to do is visit the department. Here is their address: Castle Rock Police Department Attn: Records Unit 100 Perry Street Castle Rock, CO 80104 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 AM-5 PM In-person requests for Castle Rock accident reports take about three business days to process. Make sure to also bring a copy of your state-issued ID or driver’s license. By Mail, Email, or Fax For those who can’t get their accident report online or in person, the Castle Rock Police Department accepts requests through mail, email, and fax. For each of these options, you must fill out a Request for Criminal Justice Records Search Form. Currently, the Castle Rock Police Department accepts cash, check, or credit card for records requests. The charge is $3.00 per copy plus $1.00 for each additional page. If you’re mailing your request, fill out the form and provide cash or check in the envelope. You may send it to the same address listed above. To make your request for your Castle Rock accident report by email or fax, send the form to one of the following: Fax: 303-663-6105 Email: PoliceRecords@CRgov.com If you have any questions about your accident report, call the Castle Rock Police Department Records Unit at 303-663-6104.  Need Help Getting Your Castle Rock Accident Report? Call Us Today At Tenge Law Firm, we know that locating the evidence necessary for your claim may be difficult during recovery. If you need help locating your Castle Rock accident report, contact one of our car accident attorneys today. We also offer free case reviews and work on a contingency fee basis, which means you owe us nothing unless we recover compensation. 

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get Your Free Arapahoe County Accident Report

If you were involved in a motor vehicle accident in Arapahoe County, you should always request a copy of the official police report. Requesting your Arapahoe County accident report can be done online or in person. Did you suffer injuries in your accident? You may have the right to bring a claim for damages against the negligent party. If you need assistance following an injury accident, speak with a Colorado car accident lawyer today. Requesting Arapahoe County Accident Reports Online If the Arapahoe County sheriff responded to the scene, you can request most records online. Visit their Records Request Portal page, where you can quickly request an auto accident report. You will need some information before ordering your report, including: Accident date, Accident location, Report number, and Parties involved. You also need a credit card, debit card, or electronic check to request your report online. In addition to the report fees, you must pay a service fee initiated by the online service partner. Currently, fees for electronic checks are $1.50, and credit or debit cards have a 2.45% fee with a minimum charge of $2.00. Prices for the report itself will be calculated using the Sheriff’s current fee schedule. The average turnaround is three business days, but it could take longer. In some instances, your report may not be available online. If that is the case, someone will notify you by email or telephone if you need to request your report in person. Please note that the system is not optimized for mobile devices, such as an iPad or mobile phone. You should make your request using a laptop or desktop computer if possible. You can go online to check the status of your request as well. You will need your request number and the email address you used when you filed the initial request. If you can’t locate your request number, it will be in the confirmation email that you received from NoReply@arapahoegov.com. You should receive a confirmation email within five minutes of submitting your request. If you don’t see it, be sure to check your junk or spam folders too.   Picking up a Police Report in Person If your report isn’t available online or you prefer to request it in person, visit the Arapahoe County Sheriff Administration Office. The address is 13101 E. Broncos Parkway in Centennial, Colorado. Their office hours are Monday through Friday from 7 AM until 5:30 PM. If you have questions about picking up your accident report, you can contact the Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office at their Records Division via email acsorecords@arapahoegov.com or on the phone at 720-874-3875. Whether you are requesting a report online or picking it up in person, you need to allow at least seven to ten days from your accident to ensure the information is ready. It takes time to complete the report, submit it to the database, and make it available for purchase.   Contact a Colorado Personal Injury Lawyer If you sustained injuries in your Arapahoe County accident, it’s wise to speak with a Colorado accident attorney. At Tenge Law Firm, we have years of experience representing injured victims in motor vehicle accidents, motorcycle accidents, truck accidents, and more. We can help protect your rights and help you fight for the maximum compensation possible. Contact our office today to schedule an appointment and learn more about how we can help. We have offices in Denver, Boulder, and Fort Collins.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get a Colorado Police Report After an Accident

Know When You Need to File a Police Report In Colorado, almost every vehicle collision must be reported to the police. A law enforcement officer will typically come to the scene, gather evidence, call in medical services if necessary, and file an accident report on what happened. You may think a minor accident is no big deal and there is no reason to involve the police, but not all injuries show up right away, and it’s important to document the facts. Once law enforcement arrives, they might talk to you and make a statement, and knowing what to say can help you in the long run. You can lose out on potential compensation if you say the wrong thing to a police officer. If you have questions about getting your Colorado car accident report or need immediate assistance, please contact us online or call (303) 665-2929 for a free consultation. When Is It Necessary to Call the Cops After a Crash in Colorado? You are required, by Colorado state law, to notify the police of a crash when there is any property damage or anyone is injured or killed. There is no minimum value on the property damage that must be reported. You must remain at the scene until a police officer arrives, and the officer may or may not interview you about the incident. What Should I Say to the Police? When you are asked questions by a police officer at the scene of an accident, you should answer those questions honestly. Lying to a police officer or attempting to mislead them about something that happened can have serious legal consequences. So always answer questions honestly, but keep your answers short. Do not ever admit guilt or say an accident was your fault. The scene is still under investigation, and you don’t know what other factors contributed to the crash, or what the other driver was doing. A police officer can only include things in a report that he or she sees or hears directly. The police can provide information about the evidence on the scene, but cannot say who caused the collision if they did not see it. If you tell an officer that you caused an accident, however, then he can repeat that and include it in his report. Will the Police Officer File a Colorado Accident Report? In Colorado, police officers usually file a crash report if there is property damage in excess of $1,000 or someone was injured or killed. An accident report will be filed if one or more drivers involved did not have car insurance, but otherwise, the officer might not bother to make and file a report. In this case, you should file a personal accident report with the Department of Revenue within 60 days of the crash to make sure there is an official record of what happened. How Can a Colorado Police Report Help Me? If you file a personal injury claim against the driver who caused your collision, the information in a Colorado police report can be used to help your case. If the officer noticed the other driver seemed intoxicated or issued a citation for excessive speeding, it goes a long way to prove that driver’s negligence. A Colorado car accident report can also be helpful if the other driver admitted to fault for the collision at the scene, and changed his story later during a civil proceeding. What About Accident Alerts? Due to severe weather in Colorado, sometimes an “accident alert” will be issued for a certain area. During this time, police must still be called after an accident, but will not come to the scene unless certain requirements are met. In general, police will only come to a crash during an accident alert if: Someone is seriously or fatally injured, Alcohol or drug use is involved, Vehicles are disabled and need to be moved, There is a hit-and-run, and Public property is damaged. Regardless, you should always contact the police after a crash. A Colorado police collision report can help your lawsuit, but it is important that you do not say anything that can be used against you later. Contact Tenge Law Firm For Assistance If you have had a serious injury accident and need legal help, feel free to call the Tenge Law Firm, LLC at (303) 665-2929 or send us an online message to discuss your situation.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 4 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Determine Who Is At-Fault in a Colorado Car Accident

You may not understand the laws regarding car accidents in Colorado. Your first step in pursuing recovery for your injuries is asking the question, Is Colorado a no-fault state for car accidents? Today we will discuss Colorado’s status regarding fault and how that may relate to your accident case. If you’ve suffered injuries in a car accident, contact a skilled personal injury attorney to help you resolve your claim and recover your losses.  Is Colorado a No-Fault State for Car Accidents? Colorado is not a no-fault state for car accidents. As an at-fault state, Colorado residents may file a claim against responsible parties without having to meet a threshold amount of damages. Unlike Colorado, no-fault states require drivers to turn to their own insurance policies to recover for their losses. Only after your injuries reach a certain threshold may you file a claim to recover against the other driver. Therefore, Colorado offers advantages different from no-fault states. After a car accident, you are free to pursue a claim against the driver deemed to be at fault and recover your losses.   What Determines Fault in a Colorado Car Accident?  Colorado law provides that negligence determines who is at fault in a car accident. Negligence is proven by the existence of the following elements:  A duty of care was owed,  The negligent party failed to act in accordance with the duty of care,  A person was injured as a result of the negligent act.  All drivers in Colorado possess the duty to operate their vehicles responsibly. This responsibility includes following all traffic rules. Typical examples of negligent conduct resulting in car accidents include: Speeding;  Following another car too closely; Running red lights;  Failing to stop completely at stop signs; Failing to yield or merge safely into traffic;  Changing lanes in an unsafe manner; Allowing yourself to become distracted while driving in any way, including texting while driving;  Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Various types of evidence can be used to support the determination of fault in a car accident. Additionally, you should always write down your immediate recollection of the events leading up to the accident if possible. Memories fade quickly. Promptly writing memories down or recording them in some way may refresh your memory later.  Police Report  Since fault matters in Colorado, a reporting police officer may assist in the determination of fault after a car accident. In these situations, a police officer observing a car accident will detail important information in their accident report. A reporting officer may decide fault. If they do, it provides strong support in any car accident claim.  Photographs If possible, try to take photographs of the car accident scene. Photographs should document damage to the vehicles involved and surrounding conditions including the road and weather. Witnesses  If any persons witness the accident, take down their names and contact information. A reporting police officer may interview these individuals and include their statements in the accident report as well. These witnesses may also testify as to their observations in court if your injury claim goes to trial.  Accident Reconstruction Contact an experienced personal injury attorney to review the circumstances surrounding your car accident. If you suffered injuries resulting from the negligent actions of another person, you have the right to recover your losses. A personal injury attorney works to gather facts and evidence to build a strong case to support your claim.  What Is No Doubt Liability? In certain situations, the law can presume fault in a car accident. Colorado refers to these car accidents as “no doubt liability” accidents. These accidents are difficult to argue against and often result in a quick settlement for injured parties. Examples of no doubt liability accidents include the following:  Rear-end accidents—When a driver hits the back of the car in front of them, the law presumes them to be at fault.  Backing up accidents—When a driver is backing up and causes a collision, they are at fault. Red Light Failure—Drivers that run red lights and subsequently cause an accident are almost always deemed to be at fault.  Left-Hand Turns—In situations where a driver makes a left turn in front of drivers going straight through their green light, they are at fault.  Impaired Driving—Drivers impaired by alcohol or drugs typically do not escape fault in an accident.  When you get into an accident, you may think you will be unable to escape fault. However, there may be circumstances where the collision was unavoidable and not your fault. Therefore, it’s important to speak to a personal injury attorney so they can assess the facts of your case and discuss your options.  How Do I Recover My Damages in a Colorado Car Accident? Colorado provides three ways for an injured party to recover after a Colorado car accident. These include: Filing a claim with their own insurance company; File a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance provider; and File a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. Colorado follows the comparative negligence theory. Therefore, if the court finds you to be less than 50% responsible for a car accident, you may seek compensation for your losses. However, your percentage of fault is deducted from your recovery. If a court deems you to be at least 50% responsible for the car accident, you may not seek compensation. What Can I Recover After a Colorado Car Accident? Colorado permits recovery of damages because it is not a no-fault accident state. As a result, once fault has been determined, you may recover certain damages for your injuries and losses. Economic Damages Economic damages represent those quantifiable losses supported by medical bills and other receipts. Economic damages typically include: Medical expenses,  Vehicle damage,  Property damage,  Past and future lost earnings. Invoices, medical bills, pay stubs, and tax returns support claims for medical costs and past and future lost earnings. Therefore, when attempting to recover economic damages, it’s important to save all receipts and records.  Non-Economic Damages Non-economic damages represent subjective losses typically characterized...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get Your Accident Report in Boulder, Colorado

Dealing with the aftermath of a car accident can be a scary and overwhelming experience. When determining how to get the police report for a car accident in Boulder, Colorado, you may not know the first thing to do. Contact a personal injury attorney in Boulder to assist you in obtaining a copy of your Boulder accident report. This report serves as an important tool if you decide to pursue a lawsuit against the other party involved in your car accident. What Is a Boulder Accident Report? After a car accident, it’s important to assess that all involved parties do not require medical attention. However, even if you don’t notice any apparent injuries after a car accident, seek medical attention for the existence of any other less obvious injuries.  It’s advised to contact the Boulder Police Department after a car accident to assess the scene. A Boulder Police Department police officer creates a Boulder accident report based on their observations of the scene. These observations include the following details:  The date, time, and location of the car accident; Any potential causes of the collision; The names and contact information of the parties involved; Statements from witnesses and passengers in any vehicles; Description of injuries or property damage resulting from the car accident, and The conditions present at the scene of the accident including weather conditions and road conditions.  The police office then submits the Boulder Police report for the accident which may be obtained in the days following the accident. Be sure to contact the Boulder Police Department to check on the status of your car accident.  Need help with getting your crash accident report in Boulder? Give us a call at 303-665-2929 or submit a form so we can begin reviewing the case. How to Get Your Boulder Police Department Accident Report In the City of Boulder, there are three ways to request your car accident report. After the reporting office creates your Boulder Police Department accident report, call the Boulder Police Department at 303-441-4330 in the days following the accident to check on the status. Online You may request a copy of your Boulder Police report for your accident online at the City of Boulder website. The Boulder Police Department provides a form to complete, which can then be emailed to pdrecords@bouldercolorado.gov. Mail The City of Boulder also permits requests for accident reports completed by mail. The same Request for Police Report Form must be completed and mailed to the Boulder Police Department Records Unit at 1805 33rd Street, Boulder, Co 80301. You must also provide a self-addressed stamped envelope with a check for $5 for the first ten pages of the report and $0.25 for each additional page. In-Person You may also obtain a copy of your Boulder Police Department accident report in person at the Boulder Police Department located at 1805 33rd Street, Boulder, Co 80301. Be sure to bring money for payment of $5 for the cost of the Boulder accident report. The Records Department is open from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM Monday through Friday.  Why Is a Boulder Police Report Important?  When police report to the scene of your car accident, it’s important to thoroughly explain the details of what happened while those details remain fresh in your mind. The reporting officer should include your statements in the Boulder Police Department accident report. Additionally, a police report provides an unbiased account of a car accident. This is an official report detailing an officer’s observations after a car accident. In many situations, this official report provides more substantial evidence supporting fault than hearsay and eyewitness testimony, which may occur many months after the event.  Most importantly, some reporting police officers may assign fault in a car accident. This information in your Boulder Police report about your accident may be used as evidence to support your lawsuit against the other driver. Contact Us After a car accident, seek the assistance of a qualified personal injury attorney to evaluate your claim. At Tenge Law Firm, we provide aggressive and focused legal representation to clients in personal injury matters. One of the first steps after a car accident is obtaining a copy of your Boulder accident report. The attorneys at Tenge Law Firm enjoy a reputation as one of the finest personal injury firms in Boulder. We know what vital evidence supports your personal injury claim. We provide a free consultation, so contact the Tenge Law Firm today! 

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 4 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get a Copy of Your Aurora Accident Report

Whenever you are in a car accident, whether you intend to file a legal claim or not, you should always get a copy of your accident report. The report is the state’s official record of what happened, so you should know what it says. On one hand, if you plan to file a legal claim, your Aurora, CO, accident report will help you to establish fault and plan your legal claim with your attorney. On the other hand, if you don’t plan to file a legal claim, your accident report could provide you with an indication as to whether or not the other party involved in the accident will file a legal claim against you. Whatever the case is, it is critical that you get a copy of your Aurora police accident report. Accident reports are often administrated at the city or county level. As a result, the protocol for obtaining accident reports often differs between jurisdictions. The process for obtaining copies of Aurora accident reports, for example, is different from the process in Denver. Read on for more information on obtaining a copy of your Aurora accident report. Do All Accidents Have an Accident Report? The vast majority of car accidents that happen in Colorado will have a related accident report. This is because accident reports are a legal requirement for most Colorado accidents. Drivers in Colorado are required to immediately report any accident to local law enforcement when any property damage occurs, or when any personal injury occurs. Practically every car accident causes some type of injury or property damage, even if minor. Failure to report an accident is punishable as a class two misdemeanor traffic offense. The penalty includes up to a $300 fine, up to 90 days in jail, or both. If it appears as though there is property damage of more than $1,000, or someone suffers an injury, law enforcement has a legal obligation to file an accident report. Similarly, if any party to an accident fails to provide proof of insurance, law enforcement must file a police report. If the accident you are in does not meet these qualifications, you can still ask for a police report. Law enforcement is legally obligated to file such a report if any party to an accident requests it. Thus, Aurora Colorado accident reports exist for the vast majority of Aurora car accidents.  Getting a Copy of Your Accident Report Getting a hold of a copy of your accident report isn’t too much of a hassle. Of course, who you get your accident report from will differ based on which law enforcement agency responds to your accident. If your accident occurs within Aurora city limits, the Aurora Police Department will have your Aurora accident report on file. Similarly, if your accident occurs on unincorporated county land or on a Colorado freeway, the local county sheriff’s office or the Colorado State Patrol will have your report. There are three ways to obtain copies of Aurora accident reports. Either: Through the mail; In person; or Online. The protocol for requesting your accident report differs depending on how you choose to make a request. We will explain each of these three methods. Through the Mail First, you can get a copy of your Aurora accident report through the mail. To do so, you need to download, print, and fill out a record request form. You can find the request form by clicking the “Request a Police Report” button on the Aurora government’s “Get a Police Report” webpage. Otherwise, this “Request a Police Report” link will take you to the form directly. To fill out the form, you will need to provide the following information:  Your name; Your contact information; The date, time, and location of your accident; The name and date of birth of anyone involved; The report number; and Your relation to the accident in question. If you need help finding any required information you can call the Aurora Police Records Unit at 303-739-6320 for assistance. Once you fill out the form, you can mail it, with payment, to Aurora Police Department; Attn: Records Section; 15001 East Alameda Parkway; Aurora, CO 80012. In Person You can also make your request in person. Requesting your Aurora accident report in person is helpful if you need help gathering all of the necessary information or filling out the form. You will need the same information as you would for a mail-in request. To make such a request, visit the Aurora Police Department’s Records division between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. from Monday through Friday. The address is the same as noted above. Online Requesting your Aurora accident report online is similar to requesting it through the mail. First, download the same form you would use for a mail-in request. Then, either fill the form out on your computer or print it, fill it out, then scan it to your computer. Finally, email the completed form to APDPublicRecordsRequest@auroragov.org. The police department will contact you for payment within the following 30 days. Paying for Your Accident Report No matter which method you choose, the cost is the same. The first 10 pages of a report will cost $7.55, plus $.025 per additional page. To pay for your request you can use cash, check, credit, or debit card over the phone or in person. If you need to fill out a personal check for the fee, the recipient should be “City of Aurora.” The City of Aurora warns that the turnaround for information requests, including Aurora, CO, accident reports, can take approximately 60 days. Once You Have Your Aurora Colorado Accident Report Once you have your Aurora accident report and are ready to file a legal claim, contact us at Tenge Law Firm. At Tenge Law Firm we have helped Coloradoans recover more than $50 million in damages in the last seven years alone. In one recent case, we were able to recover more than $1.1 million for our client. Our priority is giving our clients...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Obtain Your Lakewood Accident Report

Accident reports are a critical component of any car accident claim. The report is the official record of your accident. Thus, insurance agents, lawyers, juries, and judges will all use it to help adjudicate your claim. Because it is so important, it is crucial that you get a copy of your accident report before you file your claim. Filing a claim for a collision without an accident report in hand is a recipe for disaster. Without the benefit of an accident report, your lawyer may as well prepare your case’s legal strategy blind. To avoid any potential road bumps in your pursuit of a car accident claim, you need to know how to get a copy of your accident report. If your accident happened in Lakewood, your report will come in the form of a Lakewood, CO police report. Will My Crash Have a Lakewood Colorado Accident Report? If your accident occurs within Lakewood city limits, chances are that your collision will have a Lakewood Colorado police department accident report. There are a couple reasons for this. First, in almost all cases, drivers are required to report accidents to law enforcement. Second, in most cases, police are required to file an accident report for any collision they respond to. Thus, if the Lakewood police respond to your accident, you will most likely have a Lakewood Colorado accident report. On one hand, all drivers in Colorado are legally obligated to report any car accident where either property damage or personal injury occurs. Failure to report such an accident can result in a fine of up to $300, incarceration for up to 90 days, or both. On the other hand, state law requires law enforcement officers responding to traffic accidents to file collision reports for any accident where personal injury occurs or where property damage exceeds $1,000. For all intents and purposes, this includes just about any car accident. If the police respond to your accident and decide not to file a report, you can still request that they do so. If you make such a request, they are legally obliged to make the report. Obtaining Your Lakewood Colorado Police Report There are three ways that you can obtain a copy of your Lakewood accident report: Fax, Email, or Mail. Each of these methods works just as well as the others. The first thing you need to do to get a copy of your Lakewood collision report is to complete a records request form. Once you complete the form, send it in with a copy of your government-issued ID, and the report will get to you within 3-7 business days. To submit your request, you can email it to LPDRecords@lakewoodco.org, mail it to 445 S. Allison Pkwy Lakewood CO, 80226, ATTN Records, or fax it to 303-987-7359. No matter the method by which you submit your request, you should always include a photocopy of your government-issued ID. For help with filling out the form, you can call 303-987-7331 for assistance. Telephone services are limited at this time. Normally, there would be office hours, but as of July 2021, the records office is still closed to the public due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. For any request that you submit through email or fax, the Lakewood Police Department will contact you through email or fax to complete the payment. The cost is $8.00 for the first 10 pages and $0.25 for every pager after 10. You can also indicate on your application that you would prefer to submit payment in person. If you make such a request, the Lakewood Police Department will get in touch with you to schedule a time. However, in-person services are still limited at this point, so there is no guarantee that they will accept your request. If they deny your in-person request, they will notify you with a phone call or email.  When You Are Ready to File Your Claim Once you have your Colorado state police report from Lakewood, it’s time to get your claim started. After all, you don’t want to let the statute of limitations pass you up while you plan your legal strategy. So call Tenge Law Firm today. Our primary commitment is to provide Coloradans with the best legal representation possible. Whether your claim is large or small, we can help. We’ve helped our clients recover more than $50 million in the last 7 years alone, so let us see what we can do for you. You deserve specialized legal services because your case is just as unique and important as any other. Don’t just take our word for it. Check out our client reviews and case results pages to see how we help our clients. Then all you have to do is give us a call for your free consultation: we’ll take care of you from there on. Call us today for your free consultation!

Continue Reading