| Read Time: 3 minutes | Accident Reports

How Long Does It Take to Get a Police Report After a Car Accident

Regardless of whether you were at fault in a given accident, you should always have a copy of your accident report. Accident reports are essential in the claim process because they are the official record of the accident. Without an accident report, the claim’s process would quickly devolve into hopelessly conflicting versions of what happened with no way to answer the question of who is liable for what damages. People often wonder how long it will take to get their accident report. Unfortunately, it is hard to provide an accurate estimation. How to Get a Police Report for a Car Accident To get your accident report, you need to go through the law enforcement agency that responded to your accident. For accidents on Colorado freeways, you need to contact the Colorado State Patrol. If your crash was within city limits, like Boulder, for example, you submit your request through that city’s police department. Finally, if your accident occurs outside of city limits and a local sheriff’s department responds to the scene, you need to submit your accident report request through them. Every jurisdiction follows a slightly different protocol, but they are all easily navigable.  How Long Does It Take to Get a Copy of a Police Report? Different jurisdictions list different ranges of time that their accident reports take. There is no set standard among the different Colorado law enforcement agencies. Most of the time, accident reports take between two and four weeks to reach their recipient, but sometimes it takes longer. Because police departments can’t always accurately estimate how long a given report will take to reach its destination, they don’t offer any sort of guarantee as to when a given report will arrive. Law enforcement agencies need time to file and process accident reports before they are available to the relevant parties. For some departments, this means that an accident report is not available until 14 days after it is filed, while other departments may require 10 days. Regardless, you should not expect to have your accident report in hand until at least 10-14 days have passed. Why Is My Accident Police Report Taking So Long? Having a delay between when you request your accident report and when you receive it is not an uncommon occurrence. This delay can make an already frustrating situation even worse. The accident report is essential in the claim process. If you don’t know what’s on the accident report, you will have a hard time presenting your claim. So why do accident reports sometimes get delayed? The truth is, in large bureaucratic organizations like police departments, a number of things can create delays in getting documents out to the people who request them. Those documents, of course, include your car accident report. You can always expect some degree of variation between the time you request your document and the time it is supposed to arrive. This variation goes both ways. If the number of pending document requests is fairly low when you submit your request, you may get your report a few days early. But if the staff tasked with responding to requests have a backlog of requests to get through before yours, it may arrive late. This variation is exactly why most police departments are reluctant to promise or guarantee  How to Ensure You Get Your Accident Report As Soon As Possible Most of what determines how long it will take for you to receive your accident report is entirely out of your control. Thus, there isn’t much you can do to get your accident report sooner. But there is one thing entirely under your control: submitting your properly completed request as soon as possible. That way, you won’t lose your spot in the line. Equally important is to properly fill out your document request. If the request is missing information and has to come back to you, your request will go to the back of the line. Outside of this, there isn’t much you can do to make things go quicker. Now That You Have Your Accident Report With your accident report in hand, you can start the process of recovering your damages and moving on from the accident. The best way to do that is with an experienced car accident attorney. Fortunately, the team at Tenge Law Firm is just that: experienced. Every day, we help our clients move forward from the trauma that comes with a nasty car accident. We treat our clients with respect and compassion, and we do everything we can to get them the best results. To see if Tenge Law Firm is the right fit for you, contact us today to get started!

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get an Accident Report from the Loveland Police Department

Regardless of what direction you think your Loveland car accident claim will go, you should always have a copy of your Loveland, Colorado police report. The truth is, you never know what direction your claim might take. Your Loveland police report is the official record of your accident, so you need to know what’s on it to properly pursue your claim and protect your interests. Because requesting Loveland police reports is not something that you would do on a regular basis, you might not know how to request them. Luckily, the process of requesting Loveland accident reports is fairly straightforward. Once you have your Loveland accident report, Tenge Law Firm can help you take the next steps. Requesting Your Loveland Accident Report If your accident probably occurred within Loveland city limits, the responding officer will have filed your accident report with the department’s records division. You will need to submit your request to the records division. There are two main ways that you can go about requesting Loveland accident reports: in person or via mail, email, or fax. In-Person Requests You can submit your Loveland accident report request form in person at the Loveland Police Department’s physical headquarters. Their office is located at 810 E.10th Street, Suite 100, Loveland, CO 80537. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 5 PM. These hours may exclude holidays. If your report is available, the turnaround time for an in-person request might be as little as 20 minutes. Email Mail and Fax Requests To submit a request online, through the mail, or via fax, you first need to fill out a Records Request Form. After you fill out the necessary information, you will submit the request. You can fax your request to 970-962-2916, email it to records@cityofloveland.org, or mail the request to the department’s records division at 810 E.10th Street, Suite 100, Loveland, CO 80537. If you have questions about filling out and submitting the request form, you can always call LPD at 970-962-2267. Loveland Accident Reports: Cost and Timeline It is important to keep in mind that your accident report is not available for up to 14 days after an accident. This time is necessary for the police department to review the information and properly file it. There is no charge for reports 20 pages or less. The fee for reports over 20 pages is $5.00, with an additional cost of 0.25$ for every additional page. Let Tenge Law Firm Help Get You the Settlement You Deserve To increase your chance for success with your Loveland car accident claim, call Tenge Law Firm for some of the most experienced and personalized representation that Loveland has to offer. We are proud of our five-star ratings all around the web. Our previous clients rate us five out of five stars on websites like Lawyers.com, Yelp, Google Reviews, and even Avvo. You can read about our success stories on our client reviews and case results pages. If you think we are a good fit for your individual legal needs, let us see what we can do to help you. Contact us today for your free consultation!

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

Step-By-Step How to Get a Longmont Accident Report

Being in an accident is a traumatic experience, especially if you receive an injury. Once you are safe, you may not know where to begin with your claim. If you sustained an injury in an accident in Longmont, your first step in filing a claim is to get a copy of your Longmont accident report. This report not only provides details about the accident to the insurance company but also includes information from the officer’s preliminary investigation. At Tenge Law Firm, our personal injury attorneys can help you get a copy of your report. What’s Included in Longmont Accident Reports Accident reports contain valuable information about everyone involved in an accident. It’s usually filled out by the responding police officer and includes any evidence they find at the scene, such as: The date and location of the accident; Damage to all vehicles involved; Road conditions and weather hazards; and Photographs, diagrams, and sketches of the collision. For this reason, the accident report serves as an essential piece of evidence in your claim. How to Obtain a Copy of My Longmont Accident Report The first thing you should do is call the Longmont Police Department to see if they filed your accident report. In many cases, it may take up to two weeks for the officer to file the report. You may check your Longmont accident report’s status with the report number provided by the officer. If you had to leave the scene due to a medical emergency, you may call the police department to get the report number. Once your Longmont accident report becomes available, there are two ways to get a copy, either in person or by mail.  In Person If you want to get a copy of your Longmont accident report today, you can visit the Longmont Department of Public Safety Records Window. When you go, make sure to bring a valid form of ID. Each copy costs $5.25 for the first page and $0.25 for each additional page. Longmont Department of Public Safety Records Unit Safety and Justice Building 225 Kimbark Street Longmont, CO 80501 Phone: 303-651-8502 Hours: Monday-Friday, 7 AM-6 PM Mail To receive your accident report by mail, you must first call the Longmont police to check the status of your accident report. If it’s available, you can mail a crash report request form with payment to the Longmont Department of Public Safety at the address listed above. Currently, the Longmont Police Department accepts payments only in the form of cash or check.  Need Help Getting Your Longmont Accident Report? If you have any questions about requesting your Longmont accident report or need help finding it, we can help. Our experienced personal injury attorneys can answer any questions you may have about your claim or locating your report. To schedule a free case review or speak with a Tenge Law Firm attorney, give us a call or contact us online. We proudly serve clients throughout Colorado from our offices in Denver, Boulder, and Ft. Collins.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

Castle Rock Accident Reports: Steps to Get Your Report

When you get into a crash, the responding police department usually files an accident report. This report not only includes details about the aftermath of the accident but also serves as an important piece of evidence in your claim. At Tenge Law Firm, our car accident attorneys can help locate your Castle Rock accident report immediately after your crash. Ways to Obtain Castle Rock Accident Reports If the Castle Rock Police Department responds to your accident, there are a few different ways to get a copy of your report. Even if you can’t visit the department in person, you may obtain a copy online or through mail, email, or fax. Online For convenience, the Castle Rock Police Department offers digital copies of accident reports online through LexisNexis. This system allows you to look up Castle Rock accident reports made on or after November 1, 2014.  To find your accident report, you must select the Castle Rock Police Department under Jurisdiction and enter one of the following: The accident report number, Your last name and the date of the crash, or Your last name and the location of the crash. Keep in mind that your report may not be available until 24 hours after the accident. If you can’t find your report after three business days, try contacting the Castle Rock Police Department Records Unit. In Person If you want to get a copy of your Castle Rock accident report in person, all you need to do is visit the department. Here is their address: Castle Rock Police Department Attn: Records Unit 100 Perry Street Castle Rock, CO 80104 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 AM-5 PM In-person requests for Castle Rock accident reports take about three business days to process. Make sure to also bring a copy of your state-issued ID or driver’s license. By Mail, Email, or Fax For those who can’t get their accident report online or in person, the Castle Rock Police Department accepts requests through mail, email, and fax. For each of these options, you must fill out a Request for Criminal Justice Records Search Form. Currently, the Castle Rock Police Department accepts cash, check, or credit card for records requests. The charge is $3.00 per copy plus $1.00 for each additional page. If you’re mailing your request, fill out the form and provide cash or check in the envelope. You may send it to the same address listed above. To make your request for your Castle Rock accident report by email or fax, send the form to one of the following: Fax: 303-663-6105 Email: PoliceRecords@CRgov.com If you have any questions about your accident report, call the Castle Rock Police Department Records Unit at 303-663-6104.  Need Help Getting Your Castle Rock Accident Report? Call Us Today At Tenge Law Firm, we know that locating the evidence necessary for your claim may be difficult during recovery. If you need help locating your Castle Rock accident report, contact one of our car accident attorneys today. We also offer free case reviews and work on a contingency fee basis, which means you owe us nothing unless we recover compensation. 

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Accident Reports

How to Get Your Free Arapahoe County Accident Report

If you were involved in a motor vehicle accident in Arapahoe County, you should always request a copy of the official police report. Requesting your Arapahoe County accident report can be done online or in person. Did you suffer injuries in your accident? You may have the right to bring a claim for damages against the negligent party. If you need assistance following an injury accident, speak with a Colorado car accident lawyer today. Requesting Arapahoe County Accident Reports Online If the Arapahoe County sheriff responded to the scene, you can request most records online. Visit their Records Request Portal page, where you can quickly request an auto accident report. You will need some information before ordering your report, including: Accident date, Accident location, Report number, and Parties involved. You also need a credit card, debit card, or electronic check to request your report online. In addition to the report fees, you must pay a service fee initiated by the online service partner. Currently, fees for electronic checks are $1.50, and credit or debit cards have a 2.45% fee with a minimum charge of $2.00. Prices for the report itself will be calculated using the Sheriff’s current fee schedule. The average turnaround is three business days, but it could take longer. In some instances, your report may not be available online. If that is the case, someone will notify you by email or telephone if you need to request your report in person. Please note that the system is not optimized for mobile devices, such as an iPad or mobile phone. You should make your request using a laptop or desktop computer if possible. You can go online to check the status of your request as well. You will need your request number and the email address you used when you filed the initial request. If you can’t locate your request number, it will be in the confirmation email that you received from NoReply@arapahoegov.com. You should receive a confirmation email within five minutes of submitting your request. If you don’t see it, be sure to check your junk or spam folders too.   Picking up a Police Report in Person If your report isn’t available online or you prefer to request it in person, visit the Arapahoe County Sheriff Administration Office. The address is 13101 E. Broncos Parkway in Centennial, Colorado. Their office hours are Monday through Friday from 7 AM until 5:30 PM. If you have questions about picking up your accident report, you can contact the Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office at their Records Division via email acsorecords@arapahoegov.com or on the phone at 720-874-3875. Whether you are requesting a report online or picking it up in person, you need to allow at least seven to ten days from your accident to ensure the information is ready. It takes time to complete the report, submit it to the database, and make it available for purchase.   Contact a Colorado Personal Injury Lawyer If you sustained injuries in your Arapahoe County accident, it’s wise to speak with a Colorado accident attorney. At Tenge Law Firm, we have years of experience representing injured victims in motor vehicle accidents, motorcycle accidents, truck accidents, and more. We can help protect your rights and help you fight for the maximum compensation possible. Contact our office today to schedule an appointment and learn more about how we can help.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Blog

Cell Phone Driving Laws in Colorado

Colorado cell phone driving laws were designed to help reduce distracted driving. Distracted driving kills thousands of people every year across the United States. In Colorado, legislators hope to reduce distracted driving accidents with stricter cell phone driving laws. In most cases, the Colorado cell phone laws prohibit the use of a handheld device while behind the wheel. Despite the risk of tickets and fines, however, drivers frequently disregard these laws. This leads to motor vehicle collisions and, unfortunately, severe or fatal injuries. If you or a loved one suffered serious injuries in a distracted driving accident, you deserve justice. You also deserve financial compensation for your injuries, lost wages, and other damages. Choose an experienced Colorado car accident lawyer from The Tenge Law Firm to help ensure you get the justice you deserve. Colorado Cell Phone Driving Laws Colorado distracted driving and cell phone use laws include the following provisions. Drivers Under Age 18 Minors cannot use a cell phone at any time while driving. This means young drivers cannot make or accept phone calls behind the wheel. They also cannot send or read incoming text messages. Drivers Aged 18 and Older The law allows adult drivers to make or accept phone calls while driving. Adult drivers can use headphones or earbuds in one ear only. They cannot, however, do anything else with their phone or device while behind the wheel. Anyone who violates these laws faces a traffic ticket and fine. Fines increase with repeated offenses. Adults who violate the cell phone while driving laws could face jail time if someone is hurt or killed as a result. It is important to note that any type of distracted driving is a primary offense in Colorado. This means that a police officer can pull you over if they see illegal cell phone use on the roadway. Despite the implementation of Colorado cell phone laws while driving, this potentially dangerous behavior continues to cause problems on the roadways. Cell Phone Use & Distracted Driving in Colorado The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDoT) says that, at least while driving, multitasking is a myth. CDoT’s “Drop the Distraction” campaign seeks to significantly reduce distractions behind the wheel. Through this campaign and other initiatives, Colorado hopes to reduce the frequency of distraction-related accidents. According to CDoT, 90% of Colorado’s drivers admit to driving while using their cell phones and other distractions. No matter how careful you are behind the wheel, you could still end up the victim of a distracted driving accident. If you believe your accident may have been caused by driver distraction, contact a lawyer to determine whether the other driver violated the Colorado cell phone driving law. If you sustain injuries and other damages caused by a distracted driver, you have the right to pursue legal action. You could recover compensation for your medical treatment, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages. Having an attorney on your side can help maximize your potential settlement. A lawyer will protect your legal rights and fight to get you the justice you deserve. Contact an Experienced Colorado Car Accident Attorney Now The experienced personal injury attorneys at the Tenge Law Firm have assisted hundreds of clients over the years. We have recovered in excess of $50 million in settlements and awards on their behalf. Although these results might not reflect the outcome of your case, they speak to our commitment to justice. We invite you to take a moment to browse through our many client testimonials. We take our job seriously. Our dedication to exceptional service and personalized attention has earned us countless awards and recognition. Nevertheless, what matters most is that we help you get the justice and financial compensation you deserve. We provide a boutique level of highly personalized service. We limit the number of cases we handle at any one time. This means that when you hire us, we put all of our resources to work for you. We offer a free consultation, a free case analysis, and we accept injury cases on a contingency fee basis. This means you will not owe any legal fees until we recover compensation on your behalf. So contact us today to schedule your case review or to speak directly to a Colorado car accident lawyer regarding current cell phone while driving laws.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Blog

Average Settlement for Drunk Driving Accidents

Being involved in an accident with a drunk driver can be incredibly traumatic, especially if you receive injuries. While considering legal action, you may start to wonder what the average settlement for a drunk driving accident is. At the Tenge Law Firm, LLC, we know how frustrating it is to be involved in an accident with a drunk driver. Our skilled car accident attorneys are passionate about helping you hold intoxicated drivers accountable for their negligent actions. The Truth Behind Drunk Driving Lawsuit Settlements Before pursuing any type of personal injury lawsuit, it’s important to determine if the potential settlement outweighs the legal costs. Since the circumstances of each case varies widely, it’s nearly impossible to come up with an average drunk driver settlement that matches your situation. In Colorado, some drunk driving lawsuits may settle for as little as a few thousand dollars, while others may result in a multi-million dollar settlement. There are several factors that may affect the potential settlement of a drunk driving lawsuit, including: The severity of the injury, The degree of fault for each driver, The losses sustained, and The amount of exemplary damages. While some of these factors may be calculable within the first month following an accident, others are more difficult to determine. Calculating Damages in Drunk Driving Lawsuit Settlements To estimate the potential value of your drunk driving lawsuit settlement, you must first calculate your damages. There are three types of damages that may impact the total amount of your settlement: economic damages, non-economic damages, and exemplary damages. Economic Damages Also known as special damages, economic damages are any tangible losses you incur as a result of the accident. This includes medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, and more. Your total economic damages typically depend on the severity of your injury and whether it causes permanent disability. For example, if your injury results in paraplegia, you may need to factor in future medical costs and accessibility conversions for your home. Non-Economic Damages Non-economic damages, commonly referred to as general damages, are intangible losses that can’t be calculated using receipts or bills. This usually includes mental anguish, pain and suffering, loss of quality of life, loss of companionship, etc. A common way of determining non-economic damages is by multiplying the total economic damages by a special multiplier, typically between 1 and 5. However, this method may not be used by all attorneys. Exemplary Damages Exemplary damages are occasionally awarded in cases where the defendant demonstrates gross negligence that completely disregards the safety of others. Rather than compensating the victim for their losses, exemplary damages are calculated to punish the at-fault driver. While these damages aren’t guaranteed in a drunk driving lawsuit, it’s possible that the court may decide to award them. Injured by a Drunk Driver? The Tenge Law Firm Can Help If you sustain an injury in an accident with a drunk driver, you don’t have to fight alone. Contact us online or give us a call at 303-665-2929 to schedule a free consultation. Our personal injury attorneys will advocate for you so you can focus on recovery. We are proud to serve clients throughout the state of Colorado from our offices in Denver, Boulder, and Fort Collins.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Blog

Who Is at Fault in a Parking Lot Car Accident in Colorado?

Whether you are buying groceries or going back to school, parking lot accidents are always a possibility. With hundreds of cars going in and out of a parking lot every day, a crash is bound to happen when you least expect it. At the Tenge Law Firm, LLC, we are dedicated to helping ensure the wellbeing of our clients after an accident. Our experienced Colorado personal injury attorneys are passionate advocates and will fight for the compensation you need to recover. Parking Lot Accident Fault Since parking lots are often a chaotic environment, determining who is at fault can be complicated. There are several unique circumstances where both drivers may be at fault as well. Consider the following examples of common accidents that occur in parking lots. Rear-End Collision In almost every scenario, the driver running into the back of another vehicle is at fault for the accident. However, there are a few instances where the driver in front may be at fault, such as backing up into the car behind them.  Two Cars Turning into the Same Space This type of accident is more likely to happen during the holidays. Typically, the driver who turns into the oncoming vehicle to block the space is at fault for the accident, though this depends on the nature of the accident.  Two Cars Backing Out of Separate Spaces One of the most common accidents in a parking lot is when two cars on either side of a lane pull out of their spots and run into each other. Generally, both drivers may be at fault in this type of collision. Safety Tips for Avoiding Parking Lot Accidents Since parking lot accidents are a common occurrence, it’s important to exercise caution while entering or exiting a parking lot. Liability depends on the actions of all drivers involved in an accident, so it’s best to pay attention as you drive through. Here are some tips to help keep you safe. Drive Slowly  It’s essential not to drive too fast in a parking lot. This is especially important at schools where children may be running around without looking for oncoming traffic. Many school parking lot accidents involve children accidentally jumping in front of a vehicle. Park in a Spot with Ample Space If you try to park in a tight space, you are more likely to get in an accident when pulling out. Find a space that gives you plenty of room to open your door and back up your car. Use a Backup Camera If Available Most vehicles made within the past 5 years have a backup camera or similar system to help avoid collisions. If you don’t have one, be extra careful and watch for pedestrians when pulling out of your spot. By following these steps, you can help ensure your safety while driving through a parking lot, even during busy periods. Involved in a Parking Lot Accident? If you sustain an injury in a parking lot accident due to another person’s negligence, we can help. Call the Tenge Law Firm, LLC, today at 303-665-2929, or contact us online to schedule a free consultation. Our experienced personal injury attorneys in Boulder, Fort Collins, and Denver will evaluate your case and help you determine the best course of action.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Articles

Is Colorado a No-Fault or At-Fault State?

If you suffered injuries in a Colorado car accident, you can bring a personal injury lawsuit against the party or parties you believe were responsible for your injuries. However, how you bring your case depends on the state’s insurance laws. Thus, before filing a lawsuit, it is imperative that you understand how Colorado insurance laws operate. At the Tenge Law Firm, our Denver, Boulder, and Fort Collins, Colorado car accident lawyers have nearly 30 years of experience holding negligent drivers accountable for their actions. We routinely deal with some of the largest and most powerful insurance companies in the country, aggressively advocating for our clients at every step in the process. If you have questions or need immediate assistance, please contact us online or call (303) 665-2929 for a free consultation. Is Colorado a No-Fault State? After a serious accident, you may be wondering, is Colorado a no-fault state or is Colorado an at-fault state? You may also wonder what the difference is between the two. Colorado is an at-fault state. This means that, after an accident, you can file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company. In a no-fault state, state law generally requires accident victims to file a claim through their own insurance company. Only in certain cases, usually involving very serious injuries or death, can an accident victim file a claim against the at-fault party. However, in an at-fault state like Colorado, the law allows you to file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance policy, regardless of your injuries. Colorado Insurance Requirements In an at-fault state like Colorado, ensuring that every driver has adequate insurance is crucial. If drivers did not have car insurance, an accident victim would have no way of ensuring that an at-fault driver has the means to pay their expenses after an accident. Thus, Colorado law requires all drivers to obtain a certain amount of car insurance. The minimum coverage required is: Bodily Injury Liability – $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident; and Property Damage – $15,000 per accident. While this may sound like a lot of coverage. But after a significantly serious car wreck, medical expenses alone can easily and quickly surpass these limits. Thus, to ensure adequate coverage after an accident, many drivers purchase underinsured motorist (UIM) protection. UIM protection kicks in if the person who caused an accident doesn’t have enough insurance coverage to fully compensate you for your injuries. For example, assume another driver hit you and you suffered $75,000 in damages. However, the at-fault driver only carried the minimum insurance required by law. In this situation, the at-fault driver’s policy would only provide $25,000 in coverage, leaving you on the hook for the remaining $50,000. However, if you have enough UIM protection, your own insurance would compensate you for the balance. Have You Been Injured in a Colorado Car Accident? If you were hurt in a Colorado car accident, contact the experienced auto accident attorneys at the Tenge Law Firm. We handle serious personal injury and wrongful death cases. In fact, we don’t handle any other claims. This gives us an in-depth knowledge of these challenging cases, which gives you an advantage when negotiating with the insurance company or taking your case to trial. Over the past seven years, we’ve recovered more than $50 million in settlements and jury verdicts for our clients. To learn more about the services we provide, give us a call at (303) 665-2929 today. You can also connect with us through our online contact form. Calling is free, and we won’t charge you for our services unless we can get you compensation for your injuries.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Blog

Auto Accident Spine Injuries: What You Should Know

If you recently got into a car accident, spine injury is a very real concern. The forces involved in a motor vehicle accident at only moderate speeds are easily enough to damage the various structures that comprise the spine. In fact, car accidents are responsible for nearly 40% of all spinal cord injuries. However, not all back and spine injuries are immediately apparent, and it is crucial you visit a doctor as soon as possible. At the Tenge Law Firm, we have experience with serious personal injury cases, including those involving spine injuries. Since 1992, our Colorado personal injury lawyers have helped countless clients obtain the compensation they need to begin moving on with their lives after a car accident spine injury. If you have questions or need immediate assistance, please contact us online or call (303) 665-2929 for a free consultation. The Structure of the Spine The spine consists of 33 small, interlocking bones, called vertebrae. Each vertebra has a small hole through the center, which allows the spinal cord to travel from the base of the neck to the lower back. The spinal cord is responsible for sending nerve signals from the brain to the other parts of the body. In between the vertebrae are cushion-like discs. These discs help hold the vertebrae together and act as shock absorbers as we go about our everyday life. Common Spine Injuries Stemming from Motor Vehicle Accidents Car accidents involve a tremendous amount of force, which can cause irreparable damage to the vertebrae, the vertebral discs, and the spinal cord. According to the National Spinal Cord Injury Statistical Center, accident victims suffering from a spine injury spend, on average, 11 days in the hospital. Additionally, accident victims then require an average of 31 days in a rehabilitation center. Some of the most common car accident spine injuries include: Whiplash, Herniated discs, Vertebral fractures, Soft tissue damage, and Spinal cord injuries. The most serious spine injuries involve damage to the spinal cord. A spinal cord injury can carry lifelong consequences for accident victims. In some cases, spinal cord injuries cause temporary or permanent paralysis, including: Monoplegia—paralysis that affects one limb; Hemiplegia—paralysis that affects one side of the body; Diplegia—paralysis that affects two limbs on the same side of the body; Paraplegia—paralysis that affects both legs or the lower part of the body; and Quadriplegia (tetraplegia)—paralysis that affects both the arms and legs or the whole body from the neck down. Those experiencing the symptoms of a spine injury after a Colorado car accident should reach out to a dedicated personal injury attorney to discuss their case. Have You Suffered Serious Back or Spine Injuries Following a Car Accident? If you or a loved one was recently involved in a car accident and now suffers from back or spine injuries, you may be entitled to monetary compensation from the at-fault driver. At the Tenge Law Firm, our attorneys have earned a reputation for providing injury victims with aggressive, diligent, and thorough representation. Over the past seven years alone, we’ve recovered more than $50 million on behalf of our clients and their families. To learn more about the services we provide, give us a call today. You can also reach us through our online contact form. Your initial consultation is free, and because we accept all spine injury cases on a contingency basis, we won’t charge you for our services unless you recover for your injuries.

Continue Reading